Hamburger Kunsthalle
A stage for the arts

With up to 400,000 visitors per year, the Hamburger Kunsthalle is one of the most important art museums in Germany. From 2014 to 2016, the building was extensively modernized during ongoing museum operations. For this communicative challenge, we developed a successful campaign strategy and subsequently the entire corporate design of the house from the ground up: from the appearance and the website to the modular guidance system.

Variable, systemic, distinctive: The new visual identity

As part of the modernization of the Hamburger Kunsthalle, it was important to renew the appearance as well. Our recipe for success: A balanced logotype that gives art the space it deserves in all media. A color spectrum that (just like art) includes the entire color palette. A new corporate typeface. And a four-step design principle that unites all elements and is applicable to all formats.

The Kunsthalle’s goal was to put its own communications to the test during the modernization and to say farewell to superfluous measures. In the process, a joint strategy process resulted in a communications concept that now concentrates on exhibitions and program highlights in print, while the extensive event program was shifted to digital communications.

Even a modular appearance needs clear guidelines. To ensure that other project partners of the museum also understand the enormous design freedom and its limits, we developed a comprehensive style guide for the Kunsthalle.

One of the largest online collections: The new website

The Kunsthalle approached us with the requirement to develop a contemporary, responsive and individually adaptable website. The result was a clearly structured website that also offers many expansion possibilities in the future, such as the digital collection of the Hamburger Kunsthalle, which is continuously expanded with new works.

→ Website

The arts are back: Hamburg Kunsthalle’s opening campaign

In the course of the reopening of the Hamburger Kunsthalle in April 2016, we developed the multimedia campaign ” The arts are back”. Famous paintings from the Kunsthalle were distributed across the city on billboards, on advertising pillars, in huge large and small formats. The campaign also used many channels on the web and was particularly successful on social media platforms.

With free admission and a diverse program of events, the Kunsthalle presented itself to its visitors at its best on its reopening. The interest in seeing the newly modernized rooms and the new collection hanging was so immense that the museum recorded more than 200,000 visitors in the first month.

Multi-layered and accessible: A guidance system for all levels

To help visitors find their way around the more than 12,000 square meters of exhibition space, we redeveloped the museum’s entire guidance system.

→ Leitsystem

Exhibition design: “Open Access” and “Transparent Museum

With experimental exhibition formats, the Hamburger Kunsthalle has been taking alternative approaches to art education since its reopening in 2016. Thanks to our many years of experience in the development of information architectures and exhibition designs as well as our material competencies, we were able to successfully accompany the Kunsthalle in the planning and implementation of these concepts.

→ Exhibition Design

Hamburger Kunsthalle
Eine Bühne für die Kunst

Mit bis zu 400.000 Besuchern pro Jahr zählt die Hamburger Kunsthalle zu den bedeutendsten Kunstmuseen Deutschlands. Von 2014 bis 2016 wurde das Haus im laufenden Museumsbetrieb umfassend modernisiert. Für diese kommunikative Herausforderung entwickelten wir eine erfolgreiche Kampagnenstrategie und im Anschluss das gesamte Corporate Design des Hauses von Grund auf neu: vom Erscheinungsbild über die Website bis hin zum modularen Leitsystem.

Variabel, systemisch, markant: Das neue visuelle Erscheinungsbild

Im Rahmen der Modernisierung der Hamburger Kunsthalle galt es auch das Erscheinungsbild zu erneuern. Unsere Zutaten: Eine ausgewogene Wortmarke, die der Kunst in allen Medien den Raum gibt, der ihr zusteht. Ein Farbspektrum, das (ganz wie die Kunst auch) die gesamte Farbpalette einschließt. Eine neue Hausschrift. Und ein vierstufiges Gestaltungsprinzip, das alle Elemente vereint, und auf alle Formate anwendbar ist.

Ziel der Kunsthalle war es, während der Modernisierung die eigene Kommunikation auf den Prüfstand zu stellen und sich von überflüssigen Maßnahmen zu verabschieden. Dabei entstand im gemeinsamen Strategieprozess ein Kommunikationskonzept, das sich im Print von nun auf die Ausstellungen und Programm-Highlights konzentriert, während das umfangreiche Veranstaltungsprogramm in die digitale Kommunikation verlagert wurde.

Selbst ein modulares Erscheinungsbild braucht klare Vorgaben. Damit auch andere Projektpartner des Museums die enorme Gestaltungsfreiheit und ihre Grenzen verstehen, haben wir für die Kunsthalle einen umfangreichen Styleguide entwickelt.

Eine der größten Online-Sammlungspräsentationen: Die neue Website

Mit dem Anspruch eine zeitgemäße, responsive und individuell anpassbare Website zu entwickeln, trat die Kunsthalle an uns heran. Es entstand eine klar strukturierte Website, die auch in Zukunft viele Erweiterungsmöglichkeiten bietet, so beispielsweise die digitale Sammlung der Hamburger Kunsthalle, die kontinuierlich um Werke ergänzt wird.

→ Website

Die Kunst ist zurück: Eröffnungskampagne der Hamburger Kunsthalle

Im Zuge der Wiedereröffnung der Hamburger Kunsthalle im April 2016 entwickelten wir die multimediale Kampagne »Die Kunst ist zurück«. Auf Plakatwänden, an Litfaßsäulen, riesig groß und kleinformatig, wurden berühmte Gemälde der Kunsthalle über die Stadt verteilt. Auch im Web bespielte die Kampagne viele Kanäle und zeigte sich auf den Social-Media-Plattformen besonders erfolgreich.

Mit freiem Eintritt und einem vielfältigen Veranstaltungsprogramm präsentierte sich die Kunsthalle zur Wiedereröffnung ihren Besuchern von der besten Seite. Das Interesse, die frisch modernisierten Räume und die neue Sammlungshängung zu besichtigen, war so groß, dass das Museum im ersten Monat mehr als 200.000 Besucher verzeichnete.

Vielschichtig und zugänglich: Ein Leitsystem für alle Ebenen

Damit die Besucher sich auf den mehr als 12.000 m² Ausstellungsfläche zurechtfinden, wurde das gesamte Leitsystem des Museums neu entwickelt.

→ Leitsystem

Exhibition Design: »Open Access« und »Transparentes Museum«

Mit experimentellen Ausstellungsformaten geht die Hamburger Kunsthalle seit ihrer Wiedereröffnung 2016 alternative Wege der Kunstvermittlung. Aufgrund unserer jahrelangen Erfahrung in der Entwicklung von Informationsarchitekturen und Ausstellungsdesigns sowie unserer Materialkompetenzen können wir die Kunsthalle in der Planung und Durchführung dieser Konzepte erfolgreich begleiten.

→ Exhibition Design