Alape
Brand positioning in constant flux

Alape combines classic manufacturing expertise with exceptional pioneering spirit in product development. Since 1896, the traditional German company has been designing and manufacturing washbasins and washstands made of glazed steel. it continues to pursue the highest standards of material, form and function. When we took over Alapes’ brand management in 2015, the task was to translate the manufacturer’s brand values into a contemporary communication concept that could be flexibly adapted while always setting new accents. 

Visual identity: Same same but different

Alape’s visual identity is based on a basic visual vocabulary that is characterized by the same clarity and precision as the products of the manufacturer. In cooperation with the client, we first analyzed the brand values in detail and then transferred them from the product level to the communication level.

Stylistically well-defined, Alape’s visual language offers astonishing agility with regard to different applications.

Brand photography must not only be distinctive, but also flexible. Each format brings specific requirements, each type of product requires a different focus, and new details need to be put into perspective in each photograph. While we work with different photographers and stylists who enrich the brand and make it more vibrant, Alapes image aesthetic remains cohesive and recognizable.

Each format has special requirements, and for each type of product the visual language must set different priorities.

Whether it’s classic catalog images, abstract still lifes within an editorial, or social media channels:

»Alape’s distinctive visual language provides stylistic continuity across a wide range of media and applications.«

Shaping Surfaces: A subbrand that focuses on sensuality

Holistic brand support means strategically accompanying the evolution of the customer and constantly thinking ahead. Accordingly, new concepts are constantly being developed under the roof of the brand. Like the modular products of the manufactory, Alape’s individual media building blocks are designed in such a way that they stand for themselves just as effectively as for the big picture.

Alape’s curated “Shaping Surfaces” product series speaks a poetic language inspired by nature – just like the special basin surfaces in the series. The verbal tonality continues visually.

Definition: Naming and strategic realignment

Definition stands for concise composition. To reposition Alape’s micro bathroom product category, we highlighted the planning expertise that is at the forefront of kleiden bathrooms.

Alape makes it possible to optimally define limited space. In words and images, the language here is technically, especially architecturally inspired. Within the category, the individual building task is specified on the basis of three basic types.

aDialog: Narrative brand extension

In order to offer clients the opportunity to experience their brand in different media, we designed the editorial format aDialog, complete with its own visual identity. As an ongoing series of conversations, aDialog opens up new perspectives, expanding Alapes’ brand identity both intermedially and contextually.

The solid capitals of the logo were preceded by a cursive lowercase »a«, suggesting the dynamic nature of the format.
.

 

Multidimensionality: The brand in the reference space.

A fundamental aspect that inspired Alape’s appearance from the start is the holistic approach of the manufacture.

→ Messestände

 

Image film: Communication is composition

Alapes’ manufacturing process forms the basis of the brand and its products. To make the poetry of this process tangible, we staged it in an atmospheric image film.

→ Imagefilm

Alape
Markenpositionierung im stetigen Fluss

Alape verbindet klassische Manufakturkompetenz mit außergewöhnlichem Pioniergeist in der Produktentwicklung. Seit 1896 entwirft und fertigt das deutsche Traditionsunternehmen Waschbecken und Waschtische aus glasiertem Stahl. Dabei verfolgt es höchste Ansprüche an Material, Form und Funktion. Als wir Alapes Markenbetreuung im Jahr 2015 übernahmen, galt es, die Markenwerte der Manufaktur in ein zeitgenössisches Kommunikationskonzept zu übersetzen, das flexibel adaptierbar ist und dabei stets neue Akzente setzt. 

Bildsprache: Same same but different

Alapes Bildsprache basiert auf einem visuellen Grundvokabular, das von derselben Klarheit und Präzision gekennzeichnet ist, wie die Produkte der Goslarer Manufaktur. In Zusammenarbeit mit dem Kunden haben wir die Markenwerte zunächst im Detail analysiert, um sie dann von der Produktebene auf die Kommunikationsebene zu übertragen. In Bezug auf das fotografische Bild, das Alapes Erscheinungsbild maßgeblich prägt, folgen daraus besonders kontrastreiche, grafische Kompositionen mit exakter Lichtsetzung und puristischem Setdesign.

Stilistisch klar definiert, bietet Alapes Bildsprache eine erstaunliche Beweglichkeit in Hinblick auf unterschiedliche Anwendungen.

Markenfotografie muss nicht nur prägnant, sondern auch flexibel sein. Jedes Format bringt spezielle Anforderungen mit sich, für jede Produktart bedarf es einer anderen Schwerpunktsetzung, bei jedem Fotoshoot sollen neue Details ins rechte Licht gerückt werden. Während wir mit unterschiedlichen Fotografen und Stylisten arbeiten, die die Marke bereichern und lebendiger machen, bleibt Alapes Bildästhetik in sich stimmig und wiedererkennbar.

Jedes Format bringt spezielle Anforderungen mit sich, für jede Produktart muss die Bildsprache andere Schwerpunkte setzen.

Egal, ob es um klassische Katalogbilder, abstrakte Stillleben innerhalb eines Editorials oder Social-Media-Kanäle geht:

»Alapes markante Bildsprache sorgt in verschiedensten Medien und Anwendungen für stilistische Kontinuität.«

Shaping Surfaces: Ein Subbrand, der auf Sinnlichkeit setzt

Ganzheitliche Markenbetreuung bedeutet, die Evolution des Kunden strategisch zu begleiten und stetig weiterzudenken. Entsprechend werden unter dem Dach der Marke immer wieder neue Konzepte entwickelt. Wie die modularen Produkte der Manufaktur sind Alapes einzelne medialen Bausteine so angelegt, dass sie ebenso effektiv für sich stehen, wie für das große Ganze.

Alapes kuratierte Produktserie »Shaping Surfaces« spricht eine poetische Sprache, die – wie die speziellen Beckenoberflächen der Reihe – von der Natur inspiriert ist. Die verbale Tonalität setzt sich visuell fort.

Definition: Naming und strategische Neuausrichtung

Definition steht für komprimierte Komposition. Um Alapes Produktkategorie Kleinstbad neu zu positionieren, haben wir die planerische Kompetenz hervorgehoben, die bei kleiden Bädern im Vordergrund steht.

Alape macht es möglich, begrenzten Raum optimal zu definieren. In Wort und Bild ist die Sprache hier technisch, insbesondere architektonisch inspiriert. Innerhalb der Kategorie wird die individuelle Bauaufgabe anhand dreier Grundtypen (»Types«) präzisiert.

aDialog: Narrative Markenerweiterung

Um dem Kunden die Möglichkeit zu bieten, seine Marke in verschiedenen Medien erfahrbar zu machen, haben wir das redaktionelle Format aDialog samt eigener visueller Identität konzipiert. Als fortlaufende Gesprächsserie eröffnet aDialog neue Perspektiven und erweitert Alapes Markenidentität dabei sowohl intermedial als auch kontextuell.

Den soliden Versalien der Wortmarke wurde ein kursives, kleines »a« vorabgestellt, das die Dynamik des Formats suggeriert.

 

Multidimensionalität: Die Marke im Referenzraum

Ein grundlegender Aspekt, der Alapes Erscheinungsbild von vorn herein inspiriert hat, ist der ganzheitliche Ansatz der Manufaktur.

→ Messestände

 

Imagefilm: Kommunikation ist Komposition

Alapes Manufakturprozess bildet die Basis der Marke und ihrer Produkte. Um die Poesie dieses Prozesses erfahrbar zu machen, haben wir ihn in einem atmosphärischen Imagefilm inszeniert.

→ Imagefilm