MKG Hamburg
Redrawing the line between art and industry

Magnificent Ottoman coranas, Verner Panton’s Speigelkantine, showpieces by Issey Miyake and 500,000 other works from 4,000 years of human creativity live under one roof at the Museum für Kunst und Gewerbe in Hamburg. We translated these contrasts into the museum’s corporate design. Since then, the institution has relied on our expertise in terms of its guidance system, website as well as campaigns and exhibition catalogs.

 

In the logo for the Museum für Kunst und Gewerbe, we picked up on the diversity of different eras and cultures. While the almost ornamental et sign signals a clear break in the unadorned logotype, it also represents a unifying element between the museum’s two disciplines. The use of the color gold is a reminiscence of precisely that material which, across cultures, stands for the extraordinary and the imperishable.

The extensive collection publication, not only celebrates the richness of the collections of the MKG, but also tells of 4000 years of human creativity through unique objects. The exhibits, selected beyond collection areas and material value standards, show what needs and desires moved mankind and what relevance the design of early living spaces has for today. An inspiring expedition from the first advanced civilizations to the innovations of modernity.

A building with enormous dimensions, an even larger collection and a lively exhibition schedule calls for a guidance system that is as reliable as it is flexible: it should provide visitors with orientation – without restricting the exhibition organizers in their spatial planning – and without disturbing the finely restored interior architecture. We have developed four components that fulfill this task in interaction: Elegant metal angles with different color coding can be variably attached to columns and walls and labeled on site. Frost foils use the large glass surfaces to guide visitors through the corridors. Staircase banners draw attention to the highlights with striking images of works. And large blocks with tear-off overview plans are available throughout the building.

In the context of numerous special exhibitions, we have provided the Museum für Kunst und Gewerbe with conceptual and design consulting for attention-grabbing campaigns.

MKG Hamburg
Kunst und Gewerbe als Reibungsfläche

Osmanische Prachtkorane, Verner Pantons Speigelkantine, Showpieces von Issey Miyake und 500.000 weitere Werke aus 4000 Jahren menschlicher Kreativität leben im Museum für Kunst und Gewerbe in Hamburg unter einem Dach. Diese Gegensätzlichkeiten setzten wir im Corporate Design des Museums um. Seitdem setzt die Institution in Bezug auf Leitsystem, Website sowie Kampagnen und Ausstellungskataloge auf unsere Expertise.

Im Logo für das Museum für Kunst und Gewerbe haben wir die Divergenz verschiedener Epochen und Kulturen aufgegriffen. Während das beinahe ornamentale et-Zeichen einen deutlichen Bruch in der schmucklosen Wortmarke signalisiert, repräsentiert es auch ein verbindendes Element zwischen den beiden Disziplinen des Museums. Der Einsatz der Farbe Gold ist eine Reminiszenz an jenes Material, das kulturenübergreifend für das Außergewöhnliche und Unvergängliche steht.

Die umfangreiche Sammlungspublikation, feiert nicht nur den Reichtum der Sammlungen des MKG, sondern erzählt anhand einzigartiger Objekte von 4000 Jahren menschlicher Kreativität. Die jenseits von Sammlungsbereichen und materiellen Wertmaßstäben ausgewählten Exponate zeigen, welche Bedürfnisse und Wünsche die Menschheit bewegten und welche Relevanz die Gestaltung früher Lebensräume für das Heute hat. Eine inspirierende Expedition von den ersten Hochkulturen bis zu den Innovationen der Moderne.

Ein Gebäude mit gewaltigen Ausmaßen, einer noch größeren Sammlung und reger Ausstellungsaktivität verlangt nach einem ebenso sicheren wie flexiblen Leitsystem: Es soll den Besuchern Orientierung geben – ohne die Ausstellungsmacher in ihrer Raumplanung einzuschränken – und ohne die fein restaurierte Innenarchitektur zu stören. Wir haben vier Komponenten entwickelt, die diese Aufgabe im Zusammenspiel erfüllen: Elegante Metallwinkel mit unterschiedlichen Farbcodierungen lassen sich variabel an Säulen und Wände bringen und vor Ort beschriften. Frostfolien nutzen die großen Glasflächen zur Besucherführung in den Gängen. Treppenhausbanner machen mit plakativen Werkabbildungen auf die Highlights aufmerksam. Und überall im Haus liegen große Blöcke mit abreißbaren Übersichtsplänen aus.

Im Rahmen zahlreicher Sonderausstellungen haben wir das Museum für Kunst und Gewerbe mit aufmerksamkeitsstarken Kampagnen konzeptionell und gestalterisch betreut.